Overview of my 3 day Goa trip

Day 1, 15th March, 2015: After spending about 19 hours on not-so-comfortable yet not-so-cramped upper side berth of Trivandrum – H. Nizamuddin Express (22655) train’s AC 3-tier compartment, I finally arrived at Madgaon railway station (MAO), Goa at around 5:30 PM. I took a bike taxi from the railway station to a nearby rent-a-bike shop. Renting a bike to explore Goa will be economical compared to hiring cabs/autos and time-saving compared to public transport. I opted  for a gear-less 125cc Suzuki Access. Her name was Floriana. 

It was getting dark and there was not much scope for sightseeing today.


Tiara Hideaway, the hotel I had booked is around 45km away from railway station. Just like the name, Tiara Hideway was hidden very much deep inside Saligao neighborhood. It was very difficult to find the hotel but I don’t complain as the area was filled with cute buildings having strong influence of Goan and Portuguese architecture. I decided to have dinner from some restaurants nearby rather than from hotel itself. Roamed around a little and came to know that a few attractions were located nearby.


Day 2, 16th March, 2015: Today I’ll be visiting the nearby attractions and then move towards Panaji and Old Goa. Visited Mãe de Deus (Mother of God) Church, St. Alex Church, and St. Anthony’s Chapel and then rode towards Panaji to visit the wedding cake shaped Church of Immaculate Conception.

By 9 AM, I reached Old Goa. Churches and Convents in Old Goa are UNESCO world heritage sites. Following are the sites which I visited in Old Goa.

Basilica of Bom Jesus

Se Cathedral

Church of St. Francis of Assisi and the Archeological Survey of India’s museum

The Chapel of St Catherine

Mill stones of Gun Power Factory

The Chapel of Our Lady of the Mount

Viceroy’s Arch

Church of St Cajetan

The Gate of the Palace of Adil Shah, which was located inside the compound of St Cajetan’s Church

Arch of Conception

The Chapel of St. Francis Xavier

Church Of Saint Augustine ruins

Museum Of Christian Art

By early afternoon I went back to hotel to escape from heat and to take some rest. In the evening I went to Santa Monica to take a river cruise. The boat was crowded with desi tourists. There were some dancing and DJing going on, but I was very much bored. I expected to take some good sunset shots but the possibilities were limited.

Day 2 has come to an end. I will be visiting the forts tomorrow.


Day 3, 17th March, 2015: Woke up early to explore the Saligao neighborhood. I found some “home sweet homes” and some buildings which were abandoned. I was a bit puzzled with this kind of mix. After roaming around for 30 minutes, I went back to my room, watched some TV, and wasted time till 10 am as I need to book Tatkal railway tickets for the next day for my return journey (for those who are not familiar with tatkal train tickets, these are a small quota of seats whose tickets can be booked only on the previous day before the journey. Booking open at 10 AM).

After booking tickets, I visited Sinquerim fort, Chapora Fort, and Reis Magos Fort and had Shanghai fried rice for dinner.

Fire power at Reis Magos Fort, Goa
Fire power at Reis Magos Fort, Goa

I had to cut short the length of the trip even though 18th and 19th was a weekend as one of my best friend was getting married on 19th 😀

39 thoughts on “Overview of my 3 day Goa trip

  1. I’ll be visiting Goa later this year and I never thought of renting a motorbike. What a brilliant idea! How much did it cost you? Does local policemen check for driving license?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes Bama, there are plenty of Rent-a-bike shops in Goa. For gearless 125ccSuzuki access its costs Rs. 350/day along a refundable deposit of Rs.500 which will be returned once you return the bike. You will have to show them your driving license (for foreign tourists make sure your license is valid in India). You will also have to deposit any of you ID (like passport) during this duration. Bikes are in good condition and are well maintained, but do take test run to make sure its smooth. They will give you bike’s original documents (like Registration Card, Insurance, Pollution certificate) and a helmet. And yes, Goa Police do check for the bike’s documents and your driving license. Riding without wearing helmet could lead to a fine.

      Happy tripping 🙂

      Like

    1. Hi mate! Your blog looks pretty good. It’s also going to be very useful to me, since I’m in Kathmandu, but in a few days I’m gonna move to Dharamsala, and then I’d like to travel on the road all the way down the west indian coast! Where do you stay at? I moved to south east Asia with a one way ticket so I’m basically free to go wherever I want!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Thanks! My trips were a long time back so probably a lot has changed. Kerala is somewhere you don’t want to miss. I liked Kanyakumari too. Goa was nice when I was there because there were only two or three other travellers there at that time. Now, I don’t imagine it’s so peaceful. Depends what you’re looking for I guess. Enjoy your trip.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. If you are planning to explore India, then I would suggest you to buy a copy of Lonely Planet’s India guide. It basically contains all the travel related info. As for the places, I would suggest Ladakh, Manali, Punjab, Jaisalmer and Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Karnataka down south. There are flights to south east Asia (Malaysia and Singapore) from Kerala and Tamil Nadu. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thanks Sree, very kind! I never travel without the LP 😉 I’ll check these spots carefully during my stay at Dharamsala, I’d like to plan a trip just by trains and buses. You’ll see my moves on my blog for sure, perhaps a day we are gonna bump into each other! Take care!

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Your photography of the architecture is beautiful! I can’t believe how many places you went in one day, I would have been dead on my feet. Hope you had a good time at the wedding! Also I’m nominating you for a Liebster Award 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have stayed in saligao too in my last trip to Goa! Its a great option..away from the rush yet just 10 minutes drive to baga,anjuna etc. I liked saligao as it was authentic Goan neighborhood.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Sreejith, I am a senior citizen and I was in Chennai on August 29th. I paid a visit to St Thomas Mount shrine and the other Catholic shrine at Little Mount (Chinnamalai). I could walk to the St Thomas Mount shrine as I was staying in the area (Sri Ganesha Palace/Green Leaf Hotel – a comfortable hotel on the Joint Commissioner of Police (South) Road). Walking up the mount steps to the shrine was as good as climbing Mt Everest for me!. From there It cost me Rs100 to take a rick to the Little Mount Shrine. If you haven;t visited these two well maintained shrines in Chennai please try and do so when you are in that city.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hey, 3-days tour of Goa was great. Did you make it a point to not cover the beaches or was this trip specifically for Churches and such other monuments ? BTW, I didn’t know of so many churches in Goa 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Hey, I could feel that. But this aspect of Goa, as presented by you, has made me feel like going there back again. I guess I can try for July, despite it being rainy. What you think ? 😉

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Hmm..rainy season can be a bit tight i guess… it will be difficult to carry your camera and you wont be able to roam around on a rented motorbike.

          But yes..those dramatic skies and monuments drenched in rains will be splendid..consider travelling in a car/hiring a cab ☺

          Liked by 1 person

  6. House of museums is a lovely place in Goa , if you haven’t been there already . This November we travelled to Goa and stayed at Palolem beach ( my first time away from my home in Goa in 33 years ). Being a Goan , I can tell you , It’s the beach to be , away from the crowds and stunning .

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes , the museum looks outlandish from the exterior , but is a treasure trove of Goan architecture and lifestyle . I am waiting to go there again.

        Like

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.